Learning together, inspiring each other

01273 094911

  2. Governors


 ©Alfred Leete (1914)

Take a look at our webpages for more information about the roles and responsibilities of our Governors

Our  Chair of Governors is Sharon Terrill

Who are our governors?



Term of office

Appointed by


Original appt date

Sharon Terrill

Chair of Governors

12/09/2023 - 11/09/2024

Governing Body 

Chair of Governors


Children in Care / Previously in Care



Dawn Lorec 

Local Authority Governor

 25/02/2022 - 24/02/2026

Governing Body

Vice Chair of Governors



Stuart McConnachie

Headteacher Governor 

 01/09/2009 -  Ex-offico by

virtue of their office

Headteacher  01/09/2009

Rebecca Ouassa

Co-opted Governor

17/03/2023 - 16/03/2027

Governing Body 

Equalities & Inclusion



Tom Humphries

Co-opted Governor 

 25/02/2022 - 24/02/2026

 Governing Body 




Nigel Watson

Co-opted Governor 

17/03/2023 - 16/03/2027

 Governing Body 

Deputy Head 17/03/2019

Justin Brentnall

Co-opted Governor 

 12/09/2023 - 11/09/2027

 Governing Body 

Health & Safety


Gillian Dover

Co-opted Governor

 15/11/2019 - 14/11/2023

 Elected by parents

Pupil Premium

PE & Sports Premium


Sam Ford

Staff Governor 

23/09/2022 - 22/09/2026 

 Elected by staff

Teacher Governor 23/09/2022

Lucy Basterra

 Co-opted Governor 

25/02/2022 - 24/02/2026 Governing Body  Equalities & Inclusion 25/02/2022

Joanna Hopkins

Parent Governor

03/02/2023 - 02/02/2027 Elected by parents SEND 03/02/2023
Mohammed Alaqad

Parent Governor

23/04/2024 - 22/08/2028 Governing Body  23/04/2028
David Harvey  Clerk to Governors    Employed by school  Clerk  01/01/2014


In the past 12 months we have also had the following members on our governing body:

Name Role Term of office Appointed by Original apt date Term ended
Jadey Yesilada Co-opted Governor   03/02/2023 - 02/02/2027  Governing Body   03/02/2023  02/05/2023 


Committees 2023 - 2024

Education & Learning Finance & Resources Pay & Performance Committee

Chair: Dawn Lorec 

Vice Chair: Sharon Terrill

Committee members:

Sharon Terrill, Nigel Watson, Lucy Basterra, Gillian Dover, Alexis Carrington, Sam Ford, Jo Hopkins

Chair: Tom Humphries

Vice Chair: Rebecca Ouassa

Committee members: 

Sharon Terrill, Justin Brentnall, Stuart McConnachie, Jo Smart (SBM)

Sharon Terrill, Dawn Lorec,

Rebecca Ouassa

Appeals: Tom Humphries

Headteacher Appraisal Committee:

Sharon Terrill, Dawn Lorec,

Rebecca Ouassa

Appeals: Tom Humphries

Statutory Information

  • The school's Instrument of Government document can be found here.
  • Governor’s details and the Register of Business and Pecuniary Interests can be found here.

What's happened in recent meetings?

Approved minutes of meetings for the academic year 2022 - 2023 can be found here.

Approved minutes of meetings for the academic year 2023 - 2024 can be found here.

Why do schools need governors?

Every school has a Governing Body to represent the public in the running of schools. School Governors bring perspectives from ordinary life and work with the staff and the Local Authority (LA) to help secure the best possible education for the children in the school.

What do governors do?

  • ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure money is well spent
  • participate in the appointment of senior staff (including appointing the head teacher) and regulate staff conduct and discipline 
  • draw up an action plan after an inspection by the Office for Standards in Education (Ofsted)

Click on the links below to find out more information:

Becoming a School Governor in Brighton and Hove

What does it involve?

Governors need to:

  • commit to attending at least two evening meetings per term
  • attend governor training courses 
  • work with school staff to understand the school’s plans and activities

You would be expected to sit on either the Education & Learning or Resource & Finance committee and contribute to working groups as required from time to time as appropriate.

Please feel free to contact the Chair of Governors via the School Office to find out more.